Archetypes Essay


In that archetype essay I want to consider one of the most interesting and topical phenomenon of psychology science, which dates back to the ancient times and comes into notice even in our generation. Matching the topic of archetypes, first of all, we need to consider the definitions, with the aim of avoiding any misunderstandings. From Greek the archetype means “old, origin”, this is the model of behavior, a kind of pattern or prefiguration of image. The notion of archetypes is well known among the people nowadays, by and large, due to conception of the Swiss psychiatrist and psychotherapist, Carl Gustav Jung, but it concept was originate long before Jungian theory.

The first concept of archetypes was developed by Plato in his Theory of Forms. The Plato`s archetypes was defined as ideas (eidos), which are the highest pure forms of being. The ideas are absolutely immaterial, thereby we can comprehend them only via intellectual activity. It is worth noting, that the ideas are the certain prototypes of physical things and objects and they create the most genuine and accurate reality. However, Plato was strictly criticized by latest philosophers, but his ideas were later elaborated by Carl Jung.

 The Jungian archetypes is the complex of inherent unconscious elements. Have you ever caught that people have the similar behavior in some situations, for example? This aspect of human behavior relies on the collective unconscious type of the personality structures as Jung has written. In other words, the archetypes is the certain part of instincts, which we can distinguish and recognize only by such manifestations of the unconscious as dreams, interaction with the surrounding and society and the way of intellectual act. Carl Gustav Jung divided archetypes on:

  • Archetype events (birth, separating from family, marriage, the union of contrasts, initialization and death)
  • Archetype figures (The Hero, The Explorer, The Ruler, etc.)
  • Archetype motifs (the deluge, the apocalypse, the creation)

Besides those points, Jung defined twelve main archetypes and separated them into the three sections. Demanding on Jung`s theory of human psyche, the first section is The Ego Types, it contains such archetypes:

  • The Hero

The Hero archetype differs its courage, daring and fearlessness. Jung identified people, in which that type is dominating, as a strong-willed people, but sometimes, really haughty.

  • The Orphan

The Orphans (or The Regular Guy) afraid to become single and stand out of the crowd, and this is their greatest fear. However, they are truly emphathetic and can accept the world way it is.

  • The Innocent

Their main goal is to make things correctly and avoid the improper and perverse actions. Jung has considered that archetype as utopianist.

  • The Caregiver

The Caregivers are full of bounty and goodness, always try to help others, even is it could be harmful for them. The weak point of that archetype is the excessive sacrifice and the martyrdom.

The next section of Archetypes is The Soul Type:

  • The Explorer

The main purpose of that archetype is to live a full life, to discover more and more new opportunities. The people, in which The Explorer is a dominating archetype are full of ambitions and aims.

  • The Rebel

Also known as The Iconoclast, given archetype is are absolutely sure that rules was made to be broken. This is a really strong and independent type of consciousness in virtue of its will and desire for changes.

  • The Creator

How all of us could guess that archetype always tries to realize all new concepts and bring to life their ideas and dreams, moreover, people, in which The Creator is strongly marked, make efforts for their purpose achievement.

  • The Lover

Jung reckoned that archetype in the extroverted ones because The Lovers really need to love and to be loved. It is necessary for people with that archetype to be interconnected with surrounding, otherwise, they start to fall into apathy.

The third subdivision of archetypes is The Self Type. It contains such archetype figures:

  • The Sage

Also known as The Philosopher, The Sage always looks for a truth, guiding by intelligence and analysis. That archetype cannot be called as a forceful or operative, the people-sages are introspected and focused on their thoughts.

  • The Trikster

The one of the most famous archetypes is The Trickster or The Jester. The main purpose of that archetype is to catch the moment and make it full of joy and fun. The Jesters are easy-going, but sometimes could be frivolous.

  • The Ruler

The Ruler, or also The King is one of the most strong and purposeful archetype. Trying to control situations and people, the people-rulers become real leaders, but going too far, they can become cruel and unable to delegate.

  • The Magician

Also known as The Inventor, given archetype uncovers the secrets and laws of the world. The people-magicians have great talent in leading to the proper results in different issues and reaching the agreement and the consensus among the people.

Besides all the above, Carl Gustav Jung has examined the four parts of the consciousness structure in his investigation, which are the archetypes too:

- The Self (demonstrates all psycho phenomena of individual)

- The Anima (expresses the feminine and its peculiarities in men)

- The Animus (expresses the masculine and its primordial image in woman)

- The Shadow (occurs in individual as an unconsciously manifestation of the darkest peculiarities)

It is definitely wrong to rate each archetype as something independent and all-sufficient, because all of the types that Jung has identified, are interconnected and complementary in the consciousness of every single person. Thereby, you can never now, where the one archetype ends and other begins.

This essay was composed by the Check out our blog, there you can find a lot of articles and essays on the variety of topics. Our essay writing service will help you avoid any problem with your marks and will make easier your study process. Read more about our service here.